Dr. Lawrence S. Feldman, Board Member

SUBJECT: REQUEST APPROVAL OF RESOLUTION NO. 10-010 OF THE

SCHOOL BOARD OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA, RECOGNIZING MR. RICHARD DEAGUERO, RETIRED EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, MAGNET EDUCATIONAL CHOICE

ASSOCIATION, INC. (MECA)

COMMITTEE: INSTRUCTIONAL EXCELLENCE AND COMMUNITY

ENGAGEMENT

LINK TO STRATEGIC

FRAMEWORK: STUDENT, PARENT, AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT

Mr. Richard Deaguero has been a dedicated and exemplary member of the Miami-Dade County Public Schools (M-DCPS) family until his recent retirement in December 2009. During his career with the District, Mr. Deaguero taught mathematics at his alma mater, Miami Senior High School, where he also held the position of Student Activities Director. In 1985, he was awarded the Florida Council of Teachers of Mathematics Kenneth P. Kidd Mathematics Educator of the Year Award, a prestigious honor given annually to educators who have made outstanding contributions to mathematics education. Mr. Deaguero continues to share his knowledge of mathematics with students as an adjunct mathematics professor at Miami Dade College, Wolfson Campus.

From 1997-2009, Mr. Deaguero served as the Executive Director of the Magnet Educational Choice Association, Inc. (MECA), a not-for-profit, direct support organization of M-DCPS. Under Mr. Deaguero's leadership, MECA continued to expand into a vital organization that provides teacher mini-grants and student scholarships. The organization also promotes business and educational partnerships that enhance student achievement.

Mr. Deaguero is a devoted husband to Jane, who is also a retired M-DCPS educator, and a loving father to Sara and grandfather to Vincent. An advocate for community service and volunteerism, Mr. Deaguero dedicated countless hours as a volunteer with the Miami Blood Bank. He also served as a volunteer Vizcayan and Docent at Vizcaya Museum and Gardens.

Miami-Dade County Public Schools commends Mr. Deaguero for his commitment and dedication to the students, parents, and families of M-DCPS and for his many years of service to MECA and the community.

ACTION PROPOSED BY DR. LAWRENCE S. FELDMAN:

That The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida, approve Resolution No. 10-010 of The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida, recognizing Mr. Richard Deaguero, Retired Executive Director, Magnet Educational Choice Association, Inc. (MECA).

RESOLUTION NO. 010-010 OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA, RECOGNIZING MR. RICHARD DEAGUERO, RETIRED EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, MAGNET EDUCATIONAL CHOICE ASSOCIATION, INC. (MECA)

WHEREAS, Mr. Richard Deaguero has been a dedicated and exemplary member of the Miami-Dade County Public Schools (M-DCPS) family until his recent retirement in December 2009; and

WHEREAS, in 1985, Mr. Deaguero received the Florida Council of Teachers of Mathematics Kenneth P. Kidd Mathematics Educator of the Year Award, a prestigious honor given annually to educators who have made outstanding contributions to mathematics education; and

WHEREAS, from 1997-2009, Mr. Deaguero served as the Executive Director of the Magnet Educational Choice Association, Inc. (MECA), a not-for-profit, direct support organization of M-DCPS; and

WHEREAS, under Mr. Deaguero's leadership, MECA continued to expand into a vital organization that provides teacher mini-grants and student scholarships. MECA also promotes business and educational partnerships that enhance student achievement; and

WHEREAS, Miami-Dade County Public Schools commends Mr. Deaguero for his commitment and dedication to the students, parents, and families of M-DCPS and for his many years of service to MECA and the community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida, approve Resolution No. 10-010 of The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida, recognizing Mr. Richard Deaguero, Retired Executive Director, Magnet Educational Choice Association, Inc. (MECA).

A copy of this resolution is placed in the permanent records of this Board.

Presented this tenth day of February, A.D. 2010

THE SCHOOL BOARD OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA

	CHAIR
ATTEST:	
Secretary	