Dr. Lawrence S. Feldman, Board Member

SUBJECT: REQUEST APPROVAL OF RESOLUTION NO. 18-021 OF THE

SCHOOL BOARD OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA, RECOGNIZING THE 2017-18 ANTI-DEFAMATION LEAGUE NO

PLACE FOR HATE DESIGNATION SCHOOLS

COMMITTEE: PERSONNEL, STUDENT, SCHOOL AND COMMUNITY

SUPPORT

LINK TO STRATEGIC

BLUEPRINT: SAFE, HEALTHY AND SUPPORTIVE LEARNING

ENVIRONMENT

The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) was founded in 1913 "to stop the defamation of the Jewish people and to secure justice and fair treatment to all." Now one of the nation's premier civil rights and human relations agency fighting anti-Semitism and all forms of bigotry, ADL defends democratic ideals and protects civil rights for all. The ADL builds bridges of communication, understanding, and respect among diverse groups, carrying out its mission through a network of 27 regional offices in the United States and abroad.

The ADL's No Place for Hate Initiative is a school climate improvement framework that provides PreK-12 schools with an organizing framework for combating bias, bullying and hatred, leading to long-term solutions for creating and maintaining a positive climate. No Place for Hate Schools receive their designation by building inclusive and safe communities in which respect is the goal, and all students can thrive; empowering students, faculty, administration, and family members to take a stand against hate and bullying; and sending a clear unified message that all students have a place to belong.

The 2017-18 Miami-Dade County Public Schools receiving the 'No Place for Hate' designation are: Arcola Lake Elementary, Biscayne Elementary Calusa Elementary, Coral Reef Elementary, Cutler Bay Senior High, Dr. Henry E. Perrine Academy of the Art, Everglades K-8 Center, Fienberg Fisher K-8 Center, Henry S. West Laboratory School, Herbert A. Ammons Middle School, Hialeah Gardens Middle School, Hialeah High School, Howard Drive Elementary, John A. Ferguson High School, John I. Smith K-8 Center, MAST Academy, Miami Beach Senior High, Miami Northwestern Senior High, Miami Palmetto Senior High, Nautilus Middle School, Norland Elementary, North Beach Elementary, North Miami Senior High, Palmetto Elementary, Palmetto Middle School, Pinecrest Elementary, Redland Elementary, South Pointe Elementary, and Treasure Island Elementary.

ACTION PROPOSED BY

DR. LAWRENCE S. FELDMAN: That The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida,

approve Resolution 18-021 of The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida, recognizing, the 2017-18 Anti-Defamation League No Place for Hate Designation

Schools.

RESOLUTION NO. 18-021 OF THE SCHOOL BOARD OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA, RECOGNIZING THE 2017-18 ANTI-DEFAMATION LEAGUE NO PLACE FOR HATE DESIGNATION SCHOOLS

WHEREAS, The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) was founded in 1913 "to stop the defamation of the Jewish people and to secure justice and fair treatment to all." Now one of the nation's premier civil rights and human relations agency fighting anti-Semitism and all forms of bigotry, ADL defends democratic ideals and protects civil rights for all; and

WHEREAS, The ADL builds bridges of communication, understanding, and respect among diverse groups, carrying out its mission through a network of 27 regional offices in the United States and abroad;

WHEREAS, The ADL's No Place for Hate Initiative is a school climate improvement framework that provides PreK-12 schools with an organizing framework for combating bias, bullying and hatred, leading to long-term solutions for creating and maintaining a positive climate.

WHEREAS, No Place for Hate Schools receive their designation by building inclusive and safe communities in which respect is the goal, and all students can thrive; empowering students, faculty, administration, and family members to take a stand against hate and bullying; and sending a clear unified message that all students have a place to belong.

WHEREAS, the 2017-18 Miami-Dade County Public Schools receiving the 'No Place for Hate' designation are: Arcola Lake Elementary, Biscayne Elementary Calusa Elementary, Coral Reef Elementary, Cutler Bay Senior High, Dr. Henry E. Perrine Academy of the Art, Everglades K-8 Center, Fienberg Fisher K-8 Center, Henry S. West Laboratory School, Herbert A. Ammons Middle School, Hialeah Gardens Middle School, Hialeah High School, Howard Drive Elementary, John A. Ferguson High School, John I. Smith K-8 Center, MAST Academy, Miami Beach Senior High, Miami Northwestern Senior High, Miami Palmetto Senior High, Nautilus Middle School, Norland Elementary, North Beach Elementary, North Miami Senior High, Palmetto Elementary, Palmetto Middle School, Pinecrest Elementary, Redland Elementary, South Pointe Elementary, and Treasure Island Elementary.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida, approve Resolution No. 18-021 of The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida, recognizing the 2017-18 Anti-Defamation League No Place for Hate Designation Schools.

A copy of this resolution is placed in the permanent records of this Board.

Presented this twenty-first day of March, A.D. 2018

THE SCHOOL BOARD OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA

	CHAIR	
ATTEST:		
Secretary	_	