Ms. Perla Tabares Hantman, Chair

Dr. Dorothy Bendross-Mindingall, Vice Chair Dr. Lawrence S. Feldman, Board Member Co-Sponsors:

SUBJECT: SCHOOL BOARD ENDORSEMENT OF THE 5-E SCHOOL

> ASSESSMENT TOOL DEVELOPED BY THE UNIVERSITY OF MIAMI WALKSAFE® AND BIKESAFE® PROGRAMS TO PROMOTE WALK AND BIKE FRIENDLY SCHOOLS. AND RECOGNITION OF **ELEVEN** SCHOOLS

CERTIFICATES FOR THEIR PARTICIPATION

COMMITTEE: GOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS. AND INNOVATION,

COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT

LINK TO STRATEGIC

HEALTHY, **BLUEPRINT:** AND SUPPORTIVE **LEARNING** SAFE.

ENVIRONMENT

The University of Miami WalkSafe® and BikeSafe® Programs received endorsement for the 5-E School Assessment Tool (5-E SAT) in May 2014, and have continued to use the Tool since. The 5-E SAT is an assessment tool which rates the walk and bike friendliness of a school based on the 5-E (Education, Engineering, Encouragement, Enforcement and Evaluation) Model. The 5-E SAT also promotes students walking and cycling safely.

Based on the school's score, a Bronze, Silver, Gold, or Platinum Walk and Bike Friendly School Certificate will be awarded for each participating school. The 5-E SAT was implemented at eleven (11) Miami Dade County Public Schools throughout the county: Frederick Douglass Elementary, Fulford Elementary, Redondo Elementary, Toussaint L'Ouverture Elementary, Homestead Middle, Howard D. McMillan Middle, North Dade Middle, Benjamin Franklin K-8 Center, Hubert O. Sibley K-8 Academy, North County K-8 Center, and Jane S. Roberts K-8 Center.

The University of Miami WalkSafe® and BikeSafe® Programs, in collaboration with the School District, plan to continue to encourage 5-E SAT initiatives within schools across Miami-Dade County in order to promote the walking and bicycling friendliness of schools.

ACTION PROPOSED BY CHAIR PERLA TABARES HANTMAN:

That The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida, endorse the 5-E School Assessment Tool developed by the University of Miami WalkSafe® and BikeSafe® Programs to promote Walk and Bike safety at schools, and recognize eleven (11) Miami-Dade County Public Schools which were awarded certificates for their participation.