Ms. Perla Tabares Hantman, Chair

SUBJECT: THAT THE SCHOOL BOARD OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY,

FLORIDA, JOIN IN HONORING MR. RAFAEL A. VILLALOBOS AND MR. LAMAR JOHNSON AS THE 2020-2021 DADE ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS (DASA)

PRINCIPAL AND ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL OF THE YEAR

LINK TO STRATEGIC

BLUEPRINT: HIGHLY EFFECTIVE TEACHERS, LEADERS AND STAFF

On May 18, 2020, Dade Association of School Administrators (DASA) hosted a virtual ceremony to honor its finest principals and assistant principals in the District and to name and celebrate Miami-Dade County Public Schools' 2020-2021 Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year.

During the virtual ceremony, it was announced that **Mr. Rafael A. Villalobos**, the principal of John A. Ferguson Senior High School, had been selected as **Principal of the Year**. Mr. Villalobos is a remarkable educator with an outstanding career of over 20 years in the District. Mr. Villalobos is a visionary leader who has led multiple schools throughout the District and was instrumental in founding one school, while holding the position of principal at another school. This achievement made him the first principal in MDCPS history to simultaneously hold the position of principal at two schools. Mr. Villalobos's professionalism has been noticed at national and state level. He is considered an authority in his field. He has testified before the House of Representatives on issues of hurricane preparedness, in addition to being recognized in Washington D.C. for his involvement in the Sandy Hook program. For his educational initiatives and community involvement, Mr. Villalobos has been the subject of numerous articles in the media. Mr. Villalobos's exceptional leadership and commitment to educational excellence make him a deserving awardee of DASA's 2020-2021 Principal of the Year.

In the same virtual ceremony, **Mr. Lamar Johnson**, assistant principal at Jesse J. McCrary, Jr. Elementary School, was announced as DASA's 2020-2021 **Assistant Principal of the Year**. The beginning of Mr. Johnson's career with the District dates back to 2008. He started as a Miami Teaching Fellow, teaching 1st graders at Poinciana Park Elementary School. During this time, Mr. Johnson had a significant impact on his students' education as reflected on their academic gains in Reading and Math. Mr. Johnson's contributions to his students' education during that year made him the recipient of the Miami Teaching Fellow's 2008-2009 Effective Newcomer Award. Mr. Johnson's career continued to develop.

Good Cause H-12 He later served as a teacher and Mathematics Instructional Coach at Dr. Henry W. Mack/ West Little River K-8 Center. In 2013, Mr. Johnson became assistant principal at Jesse J. McCrary, Jr. Elementary School where he has contributed to improving the school's performance, including the school achieving a grade of "B" for the first time. In 2018, Mr. Johnson's was selected one of three assistant principals in the District to represent MDCPS in the KIPP School Leadership Program. Mr. Lamar Johnson's dedication, hard work, and commitment to professional growth and education make him an admirable awardee of DASA's 2020-2021 Assistant Principal of the Year.

This item does not appear in the regular published agenda. There is good cause to vary from the published agenda in order to timely and properly recognize the outstanding achievement of the educators honored herein.

This item has been reviewed and approved by the School Board Attorney's Office as to form and legal sufficiency.

ACTION PROPOSED BY CHAIR MS. PERLA TABARES HANTMAN:

That The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida, join in honoring **Mr. Rafael A. Villalobos**, principal at John A. Ferguson Senior High School and **Mr. Lamar Johnson**, assistant principal at Jesse J. McCrary, Jr. Elementary School for being named DASA's 2020-2021 Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year respectively.