Ms. Perla Tabares Hantman, Chair

SUBJECT: THAT THE SCHOOL BOARD OF MIAMI-DADE COUNTY,

FLORIDA JOIN IN RECOGNITION OF MS. TERESA E. MURPHY FOR BEING NAMED THE 2022 FRANCISCO R. WALKER

TEACHER OF THE YEAR

COMMITTEE: PERSONNEL, STUDENT, SCHOOL, & COMMUNITY SUPPORT

LINK TO DISTRICT

STRATEGIC PLAN: HIGHLY EFFECTIVE TEACHERS, LEADERS AND STAFF

On February 4, 2021, Miami-Dade County Public Schools hosted the 2022 Francisco R. Walker Teacher of the Year virtual ceremony to name and celebrate its 2022 award recipient. Ms. Teresa E. Murphy, a 3rd grade teacher at Spanish Lake Elementary School, was awarded this prestigious recognition for her outstanding career as an educator and leader at her school.

Ms. Murphy is a 27 year veteran of Miami-Dade County Public Schools with a passion for service and dedication to her students. Ms. Murphy, a firm believer that community service starts in the classroom, is constantly inspired by her students and works tirelessly to encourage and empower them. She instills in her students values such as citizenship and cooperation, for she considers these values to be as essential as the academic curriculum.

Ms. Murphy's meaningful contributions go beyond the classroom. In 2002, she established the "Team Santa" toy drive, which has impacted more than a hundred schools and countless children. In 2019, she organized a collection at her school site to aid in hurricane relief efforts in The Bahamas. Afterwards, she developed a collaborative technology project to help her students think globally.

Ms. Murphy has served in numerous leadership roles at her school, such as EESAC Chair and union steward, and is the recipient of several awards and recognition for her work in the field of education. She holds a Bachelor's degree in Elementary Education and Master's degree in Early Childhood Education from Florida International University.

Ms. Murphy is an outstanding educator, who continues to make a positive impact. Ms. Murphy reach goes beyond the classroom, and this award is a testament to her passion and commitment to her students.

This item does not appear in the regular published agenda. There is good cause to vary from the published agenda in order to timely and properly recognize the outstanding achievement of the educator honored herein.

ACTION PROPOSED BY CHAIR MS. PERLA TABARES HANTMAN:

That The School Board of Miami-Dade County, Florida, approve Resolution No. 21-001 recognizing Ms. Teresa E. Murphy for being named the 2022 Francisco R. Walker Teacher of the Year.

Good Cause H-22